Opening The Art Chest

Raphael 3cr promo

My Art Chest was opened with a phone                My first job in the media was a

call.  Three weeks earlier I auditioned                    volunteer radio host.  The Boldness

for a television show. Jordan Prosser,                   is Disability Current Affairs program.

the producer thought I had a good voice              I treasure that experience.  It gave a

for radio and advised me to call 3CR.                     taste of a new career.

Raphael and Emma Buckley St Kilda Film Festival

Photograph. Emma Buckley and Raphael Kaleb at 2017 St Kilda Film Festival

Entertainment excites me.  Touches my                  Into The Limelight a comedy was

soul.  After 3 years on radio, I knew                          shown at the 2017 St Kilda Film

what I wanted. Ambition came calling.                    Festival.  Emma Buckley was the

Charged with adrenaline  I explored other              Executive Producer. Six years into my

creative disciplines.                                                       journey, I felt I belonged.

Raphael as acomedian

Raphael Kaleb performing at the Lyrebird Lounge. Photographer Capt’n Justyna

Comedy is like the death sentence  for                  Fear, Failure and Humiliation are three

the performer. It owns me. It’s more                       tenets of comedy taught by Justine

addictive than any drug.  There’s no                       Sless professional comedienne.  With

better feeling than the audience saying                her encouragement I entered 2017 RAW

afterwards “Well done. Thank you.”                         Comedy Competition.

Three Creative Power houses in Footscray

Left to right: Opening night of One Night Only Art Exhibition Larissa Macfarlane, Raphael Kaleb and Heidi Everett. Photographer Ali Butler

Larissa is an acquired brain injury                                   We are often photographed at

artist, famous for handstands, and screen                    events together.  We have

Heidi has been a finalist in many                                      strengths in related fields. A

music competitions and gifted illustrator.                     common bond is we respect

They are my peers as well as friends.                              all people for their abilities.

Burnie Gardens promo

Burnie Gardens, Tasmania  Photographer Raphael Kaleb

Each year I develop a new aspect to                                 Last year I added photography to

The Art Chest.  In business                                                  to what I can do.  Pictures and

and in trades, people have a specialty and                      words go together.  Using my

develop a working knowledge of related                         pictures improves my writing and

aspects of of that industry.                                                  marketability.

Belle and Raphael

Opening night of 2017 Art Me Up Exhibition  Raphael Kaleb and Belle Phoenix Photographer Phillipa Armstrong

Art Me Up was part of Melbourne Fringe                   Belle Phoenix is the lead singer of

Festival. Each year. Port Phillip Housing                   Subterranean Sea.   We share a

Association invites tenants to exhibit their             wicked sense of off beat  black

work.  In 2017 Art Me Up was held at                          humor.  Music is another demension

Gasworks in Port Melbourne.                                        of The Art Chest.

Raphael voices with helena

Opening night of Voices Maurya Bouinsoius, Raphael Kaleb and Helena Wilson

Photographer Simon Direen.

Voices is a short documentary exploring                     In seven years I’ve covered many

the influences of our lives and backgrounds.             aspects of creativity. What I did was

What we had in common is we all completed             action my dreams and turn them

“Voices of The South’ a public speaking course.          reality.  Those experiences and

That bond united us.                                                         people are The Art Chest.

For more information about Voices go to  www.facebook.com/Voices-Documentary-309397392832063

Arts/Creativity/Entertainment is my world.  Its where I belong.  My Art Chest has many treasured memories. From playing in Battle of The Bands in 2015, a finalist in The Emerging Writers Festival in 2015, acting in plays like No Offence and There Might Be Ghosts in Melbourne Fringe Festival. By late 2016 I hosted A Rambling Beurologists Dream, my own radio show as a Summer Series on 3CR.   I’ve also produced and directed a short film Christened By Fire based on a book I wrote shown at Mojo Film Festival.  It’s a a long way from that kid who was an extra winged monkey in the Wizard of Oz in primary school  who hid behind the curtain hiding from the audience.

A pen and paper

Treasured possessions

Words are my legacy.

Raphael Kaleb

Leave a comment