3Cr The Boldness Where Do I Begin Interview Transcript

3CR The Boldness Disability Current Affairs

Where Do I Begin Interview Transcript

Prepared by Raphael Kaleb

The Boldness Theme Music.  Happy sounds saying The Boldness.

1 minute

Phin:] Hello and welcome to the Boldness.  My name is Phin Meere. And before we get going we should say that The Boldness is about standing up for your human rights instead of  waiting for some well-meaning person to give them to you. Now joining me on the show is my regular co-host Raphael ‘The Beurologist’ Kaleb.

Raphael: Yes. The Beurologist is on the lands of Boonwurring  People. We pay our respects to their Elders past present future and emerging.

Phin: We sure do and we should thank people who donated to Radiothon over the radiothon period. You can donate by going to http://www.3cr.org.au.  Now we have some guests who are joining us this evening.

Raphael: we certainly do. Where Do I begin? We have got Melody Shotade who is the producer Where do I Begin? how are you doing, Melody and Irit ?

Melody: Well, thank you. Raphael and Phin ? How are you? .

Raphael:  Good. How are you doing here? Yeah, I’m doing fantastic.

Phin: Thank you.

Raphael: Where Do I Begin –  what is it all about?

3 minutes

Melody: Oh, first one is start by acknowledging. They were people of the Kulin nation who are being interviewing here from today and I will answer your first question. Where do I begin? What’s the vision behind? Where do I begin? It’s a playful space that connects audiences and performers and Herb space where you can like is basically personalizes the digital experiences that often feel cold and sterile

Raphael: With WhereI Begin It’s Accessible include those performer’s . Tell us about the cast.

Melody: . We have Irit and Irit is the sound artist who’s on the cast. And They’re actually putting together. I should let your really explain what you’re doing. We have Chelle Destefano who is a multidisciplinary artist and performer and we have Elvin Lam who is a Deaf dancer and we have me Melody. Sees our community  performer, who’s usually a musician but is coming in as a performer. Let your at talk a little bit about what they’re doing with the show. Okay, so I (Irit joins conversation)

4 minutes

Irit  I am putting together some sound to accompany the movements of the dances. Yeah, I think that’s about it.

Melody: There’s a bit of it. There’s a bit of an access aesthetic there too. Is that there? The sound is actually a vibrational sound insulation that can be felt. Through like your PC or speakers or whatever and it’s sort of kind of connects people together that can feel sound and hear sound. So, we’ve got, we’ve got Deaf performers that want to be able to kind of feel the vibration of the music because they can’t, you know, here. And I think that’s really important to be inclusive of everybody and not kind of have those expectations that were all the same.

Raphael:  Melody. How did you go about developing a cast, that was so diverse se is variety, but the cast is that there’s people of colour/ Indigenous/First Nations/ people that are deaf. How did this all come about?

Melody:  There’s no but Indigenous people First Nations. On the project. Unfortunately, maybe for future projects. I think diversity is a really kind of colonial this word and I really don’t like it but inclusive-wise try and accommodate for everybody and I think the more we kind of include people. Then the more we see that we’re not that different from each other. [00:05:59] We all basically want the same things and stuff. We’re just Have different ways of communicating and going about it.

Raphael: Phin, thought you were about to jump in with a question. Before I kept on talking? What was your question?

Phin: Let me go to ask deep performative. You I think there are if I understand this. What you have there are different levels of there are different. There are different. Levels of performance. So, there’s a there’s passive performance, they active performance in there is another category, which you’ll have to give me his Escape me, but it will be good to highlight the different levels of performance here. You’re offering is part of as part of your show.

7 minutes

Melody: Absolutely thin. It’s a basically, the show is at two interlaced like shows. Or events. The first one is the proactive show, which is a more kind of personalized experience where your kind of thick you invited to participate in the show, and it’s held on zoom and then it goes live stream to YouTube where friends and family, you know, might be watching and supporting along with other art supporters who might just More inclined to, you know, want to see how it all pans out with you inside the show. So, and then on the other hand on the reverse with the purpose to show, you might have that are in the passive show when I watch people in the productive show.

Phin: So why is it important to have those three elements of performance,

Eight minutes

Melody: right? For inclusivity? I think it’s important to realize that not everyone is up for audience participation and some people do like to get actively involved in art. So, it’s basically catering for their needs and wants, you know, in how they want to participate in art

Raphael: as part of this interview. I sent a couple of questions to one of the performers Elvin Lam and I’ll just read the questions and the answers. The first question I said was Elvin   How have they found the experience of? Where Do I Begin?  Elvin replied.  I found that it’s interesting that how I follow and be inspired by other performers on Where Do I Begin and how that impacts my feelings at the practice of empathy and respect for others. Feelings by being good to [00:08:59] follow their moves and expression. It’s also interesting how they respond to my movements. Where do I begin expert? How I start to move through my body, feelings vibration, and perception of space and effective question. I posed to open was where it is. What does where I do? I begin Maine to them and they often replied. I hope that this will connect and engage with perfecting audiences differently to General social media. And my last question to of it was, why is Where I do Begin important to them and Elvin’s. response was “People of, for with curiosity and love to explore the screens. Limited the through offering a very powerful and reflective performance, platform to engage and interact with audiences. I hope that audiences will feel a connection to my emotional expression through from, actively following and or passively watching my interpretive movement over digital platforms. Now, is that Melody? What is meant by general social media video?

10 minutes

Melody: Okay, so, I think the best way to kind of explain this is that I think you could, are you asking what the difference is between the performance in terms of like a zoom video and a normal like a social media video. Is that what you’re asking? Like, what is there any difference between the two.

11 minutes

Raphael: Well, the term,  they did use was that. ‘’I hope this will connect. Engage effectively audiences differently to General social media videos. “

Melody: Okay. So, he’s saying

Raphael: General social media videos in this that context.

Melody: Okay, so maybe just like your videos with you no animals or, you know, men like watching funny cat videos. Funny cat videos or something like that. I guess it’s more of a kind. Of immersive experience and I think that’s what he’s referring to. I’m guessing. Like it’s not here today, but I would say that that’s what he’s trying to get to when he says, you know, he’s interaction and stuff like that and how people respond to him. It’s about evoking those responses and that happens live. It’s not record pre-recorded. So I think that’s where the difference is.

12 minutes

Raphael: . But we’re now coming to the halfway mark of The Boldness. We’re talking with Where Do I Begin with Melody and Irit. We’re going to play some Community announcements and then we’ll continue talking with Melody and Irit.

Community Announcement Wellways:

If you or someone you care for is struggling with a mental illness or other disability and you need someone to talk to you can call the well ways whole plane. Well, ways helpline is volunteer support and referral service. That provides information to people experiencing mental health, issues or other disabilities as well as their family friends and carers. We’re here to talk. If you were feeling socially isolated, seeking information about mental health, or mental health services or just need someone to talk to as a peer based. This everyone working at will always helpline has a lived experience of mental health issues or disability. While wise helpline is a national service and operates Monday to Friday 9 a.m. To 9 p.m. Excluding public holidays. So, if you are struggling yourself or a struggling to help someone else, please call well ways helpline on one 300 triple 1/500. That’s one. 300 triple 1 500. Wellways supports 3CR.

13 minutes

Review of Employable Me by Loz’s Stars.

Murdoch: This is Loz’s stars will also give reviews of movies or TV shows. On at the cinemas with streaming on your digital devices. Hi, this is Murdoch and Loz panellist on The Boldness. And this is Loz’s stars. What show are we reviewing to-day?

Loz:  Hello Murdoch. We are doing Employable me

Murdoch: What type of show Loz, is it?

14 minutes

Loz  It’s a TV show over two seasons with three episodes each on ABC iView.

Murdoch  And what is this show about?

Loz  It shows their hopes and dreams of seven individuals with disabilities in their quest to find  employment

Murdoch: . Well, let’s concentrate on a few of the participants.

Loz : Whose first up

Murdoch. It’s Rowan. He’s a 21-year-old who lives in the Blue Mountains.  Out and said home and he has autism and he would love to find a job goes to Sydney, University to do some tests results show that he has a fantastic memory. His professor says, his recall is in the top 2% of the Australian population. One gets a job trial at the Kitumba Scenic Railway near his home, but it does not work out. He is still looking for employment. Who do we see next? Cause

15 minutes

Loz:  we have Kayla a 20-year-old who lives in Western Australia with her single mom. She has Tourette’s Syndrome. She sometimes has uncontrollable tics and swearing but when she plays a guitar and sings, the tic’s  disappear, she gets an interview at a live music venue. And after successful trial. She gets a part-time job as a stagehand and a sound technician, who’s up next ?

Murdoch Tim is a 28-year-old built, until along the South Wales and has severe autism. Tim is very withdrawn, doesn’t like to be touched and does not like loud noises, interested in it and his very good qualifications. It’s a trial job in a game development company is really well, testing and fault-finding of computer games. This condition. He cannot do. The one-hour commute on public transport to get him to and from his home by himself, but because of his skills, he is recommended to another similar company near his home. He is offered a full-time job with them. He and his family are thrilled.

16 minutes

Loz: There are lots of similar stories in this series, some successful and some are not

Murdoch: Yes. It highlights the problems with people with a disability to find gainful employment.

Loz: It shows the stress and strain of the people and their families.

Murdoch Yes, Loz people with a disability have a 60% unemployment rate against the normal six percent, for the rest of the population.

Loz: It’s inspiring and confronting. At the same time

Murdoch: This program is made by the same people that made Love On The Spectrum and some of the participants are in the series

Loz:  How many stars are you going to give it Murdoch

17 minutes

Murdoch: I’m going to give it seven stars out  of Then what are you going to give it

Loz:  less? I’m gonna give it. Six stars out of 10.

Murdoch :  remember this show can be seen on ABC iview and thanks again for listening to Loz’s Stars

Interview With Where Do I Begin Continues

Raphael: Welcome back to The Boldness Disability Current Affairs. We are talking with Melody Shotade  and Irit from Where do I Begin? Now Melody and Irit  Where Do I Begin? Is that part of Melbourne Fringe Festival?

Melody: Yes. Yeah, it is. It’s part of Melbourne Fringe.

Raphael: Now, tell us about how did you prepare for a show coming up to Melbourne Fringe? Melbourne has had a lot of lockdowns, Covid  social distancing virtual respectful. How did that is that beneficial to performances? Or was it a lot more difficult?

Melody: We’re very lucky because not because of covid but because this is a digital performance and I kind of was Thinking that this might play out a bit longer with the Delta virus and stuff. So, yeah, it’s a digital. It’s a digital performance and it, you know, it kind of highlights the experience. That we’re kind of all going through together and kind of hoping that, that actually brings us together. You know, it just through, you know, that immersive experience

Raphael: right now. Well, they’re both put on previously was called Woven and that was, I think that it was an inclusive overall experience as well.

19 minutes

Melody: Yeah, I think so. I think this one’s a little bit different. two woven though because woven was a very sensory performance and I think I’ve learnt from woven in some ways is that, you know, you can overdo sensory, you can have the overload of sensory experiences. So, trying to space this out a little bit more.

Raphael: So from memory Woven was also performed on a 40-degree day added on top of this

Melody: . It was. But there was a lovely Breeze that came through right through the middle of it. Perfect timing. Yeah, it was, it was a warm day. And yeah, but it was a beautiful experience to say that. Yeah, I think too, you know, with the 3D sound installation and stuff that was happening on the day, which is just beautiful. I just, I think that I kind of look at Yes, a little bit differently. Now, in terms of inclusion, and I’m trying to minimalize have a more minimal minimalistic. I said it to the performance so that it can be more inclusive. Yeah.

20 minutes

Raphael: Right. Now, I’m going to talk a little bit about. We’re going to have a bit of discussion about this diversity of all the cast members. For example, is the one of the cast members is Chelle Destafano . A  very, very, very gifted visual artist who also performed at Melbourne Fringe Festival a few years ago in a play – The Auslan Movement.

Melody: Yes. And she’s also got a show coming  up to called Straight Light as well. This year.

21 minutes

Raphael: We certainly got to encourage everybody to come along and see what is actually going on the range of performances at Melbourne Fringe Festival. Now is that with Melody  Shotade  that We need that to keep Melodies daughter died. A very big. Congratulations Melody, recently successfully applied, for Theatre Network. Australia mentorship through the Victorian Independent, Producers Initiative.  

22 minutes

Melody: Thank you. I think it’s more about assisting others. Now. Like I feel really privileged to be able to have gotten this far and now I think it’s about turning the tables around and starting to give others a leg up who, you know were in the same position as me, you know, a couple years ago. So I’m very grateful to all the supports that I’ve been that have been helping me along the way. So yeah, it’s basically how it’s kind of a system. He’s that, you know, help others. Yep.

Raphael: I’m ready to actually try this question in with the Victorian Independent Producers Initiative. Time it back because Station Network Estrella did recognize that there were communities, that were underrepresented in the Arts factors people from communities with people that disappear for identified with having a disability  rural Australia. The LGBTIQA+ Community, people of colour first Nations indigenous people ever to provide more. Where Do I Begin is one way of including a lot more people into the art and showing what a great challenge. What happened? A rich culture that is available in the art scene, in Melbourne.

23 minutes

Melody: I agree. I think that if you kind of Open up the doors for everyone. Who’s been kind of cast to the shadows in. You get to see even more flavour come in and more talent and more vibrancy, you know. Yeah, it’s exciting. It’s like a lot of people are feared this but I think it’s really exciting and I feel really passionate about contributing to that if I can, you know, so yeah, the artists in the show of Just fantastic and talented. I’m so lucky to be working with them. And yeah. Just feel really blessed.

24 minutes

Phin: What are you hoping to get from? Performing it in the show? What are you looking for?

Melody: I’m looking forward to not being nervous about punching about punching buttons because I’ll be doing the controls of the show. So, I usually get shaky around these sorts of things. So, I’m looking forward to that. But most of all, I’m looking forward to audiences 0] and art appreciators and performers, you know. Get in sync with each other and have some have some joy in such cold times, you know, and really have some courage to connect with each other.

25 minutes

Phin: Well, if you think that, what do you think that the terms of providing access to people? What is it what to people with disabilities? What is the What is the pandemic main as if more people have greater access to things that are now going online?

Melody: I can only talk from my perspective as a as a woman who’s got a disability and it makes things a little bit easier if you’re socially, anxious person to be able to access events and stuff online. So, yes,  it does for me, but I’m not too sure about other people. I guess I’m maybe the performance might be appreciative to, I know you’re right. Have you had what’s your experience? Been just quickly? I think we’re wrapping up. Sorry, and I totally agree

26 minutes

Phin: on the socially. Anxious from

Melody: definitely made things easier the and also just for the flexibility

Raphael: and

Melody: in terms of like how much energy you’re able to

Phin: put into things in terms of like traveling to places or not having pressure to engage this phone number. Your people weren’t if people want to fit in. Come along to. Where do I begin as part of Melbourne Fringe? Where can I Go?

27 minutes

Melody: Look for the proactive show and the passive show of where I begin. And go to Melbourne, Fringe.com., Do you and you’ll be able to find it online? And, you know, if you punch in Google, you should be able to find the number, therefore, box office as well. Well,

Phin: there are several there were several times performed times as well or put that up. As part of podcast. It’s time for us to go.

Raphael: it certainly is. Well, I would like to thank our guests Melody Shotade and Irit Johnny is on the The Boldness Disability Current Affairs about the upcoming show. Where do I begin? Thanks very much Irit

Irit: Thank you.

Raphael: And thank you very much Melody, bit joining us tonight.

Melody: No worries.

28 minutes

Raphael: And thank you very much being me for coming in. Now that it’s time for us to say goodbye. And it’s that time, that is in Cape isn’t completed by lovely. If you don’t think the revolution started, you’re listening to the wrong station. This is dressier voice that the people we’re going to go out this song. From where do I begin by Miami Marlins? And it’s called The Rebegining. See you all next time. Goodbye.

Melody: Thanks Raph. Thanks Phin

Phin Meere and Raphael ‘The Beurologist’Kaleb interview Irit Rozenfeld and Producer Melody Shotade from Where Do I Begin showing at Melbourne Fringe Festival 2021.

Show details Where Do I Begin(link is external)

Loz’s Stars Review of Employable Me(link is external)

Outro Song:  The Rebeginning  by Mayumi Mullins

Support The Boldness Disability Current Affairs.  Donate(link is external)

#3CR #MelbourneFringe #2021MebFringe #WhereDoIBegin #TheBoldness #DisabilityCurrentAffairs #Art #Perfromance

Next show 6:00 pm 29 Sept 2021

Leave a comment